DOP New Transfer Policy Guidelines 2020


Transfer Policy Guidelines DOP 2020

File No.X-12/1/2019-SPB-II

Government of India

Ministry of Communications

Department of Posts

(Personnel Division)

Dak Bhawan, Sansad Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

Dated:  June 3, 2020


All Chief Postmasters General / Postmasters General

Chief General Manager, BD Directorate / Parcel Directorate / PLI Directorate

Director, RAKNPA / GM, CEPT / Directors of all PTCs

Addl. Director General, Army Postal Service, New Delhi

All General Managers (Finance) / Directors Postal Accounts / DDAP

Subject: – Transfer policy guidelines – clarifications.


I am directed to refer to Directorate’s communication number 141-141/2013-SPN-II dated 17.01.2019 vide which revised ‘Guidelines for transfer’ was circulated to all Postal Circles. Subsequently, clarification has been issued vide communication of even number dated 07.05.2019, 24/27.06.2019, 24.10.2019 and 30.04.2020. Now, references were received from various Postal Circles pointing out some difficulties and seeking clarifications. The references have been examined and clarified as under: –

Clarification sought Comments / Remarks
1. Whether 3 years of  service condition holds for transfer under dated Rule-38 for surplus qualifying officials or not as mentioned in earlier transfer policy guidelines. Para 3 (A) (x) of transfer policy guidelines 17.01.2019 provides that only such official who have completed probation or put in minimum service of 2 years in the grade where there is no probation period shall be eligible for transfer under Rule38. Further, it is clearly mentioned that transfer policy guidelines is applicable on Group ‘C’, Group ‘B’ (non-gazetted) officials and Assistant Superintendent of Posts. Therefore, the question of DR or surplus qualified may not be arise as it is equally applicable for both.

Therefore, service condition mentioned in Para 3 (A) (x) is applicable on both DR and surplus qualified as well.



File No.X-12/1/2019-SPB-II

2. Competent authority for decidingPostman inter sub divisional Rule-38 transfer of Postman and MTS staff. Postmaster and MTS are Divisional cadres. As such, request transfer of Postman and MTS has not come under Rule38 transfer. Therefore, Divisional Head is competent enough to approve such transfer of MTS & Postman within the Division.
3. Application  received  after 30th  June, 2019 may be rejected or taken up in the year 2020 without requesting the applicants to submit fresh application. Para 3 (C)  (ii)  of  transfer policy guidelines provides that the application for transfer under Rule 38 shall be received in the office of Chief Postmaster General (CPMG) between 1st April to 30th June of the year. Applications, received after closing of normal office hour of 30th June shall not be entertained in any circumstances.

Therefore, the transfer requests received after 30th June, 2019 shall be rejected and shall not be entertained. However, such applicants may be requested to apply afresh before 30th June, 2020 for consideration.

4. Disease covered under ‘Terminal illness’. Competent authority has decided that a
medical certificate  specifying  such disease as  ‘terminal illness’  shall be obtained from Government hospital certified by Chief Medical Officer of the headquarter of the applicant.
5. Clarification  issued vide letter dated 24.10.2019 (Point No. 5) i.e.
Regional Head shall be the competent authority to approve rotational transfer of SBCO officials within a Region is contradictory with Sl. No. (vi) of Directorate’s instructions issued vide communication number 4 9/2011-SPG-(Pt) dated 30.03.2015 regarding composition of Transfer and Placement Committees for recommending transfer of SBCO staff.
In order to remove any discrepancy, Competent authority has decided that DPS (Region) or Regional Head (where there is no DPS) shall be the competent authority to approve rotational transfer of SBCO officials within a Region.

6. Immunity from transfer to office bearers of recognized Service Associations on completion of station tenure. Office bearer of  recognized  Service Associations who are elected to the office of Chief Executive or General Secretary, Assistant Secretary and Financial Secretary or Treasurer of Group ‘C’ and Group ‘D’ Associations whether they are All India, Circle or Division units, if the constitution and bye laws of the Central Service Association permit opening of such branches shall be allowed for their posting at headquarter station of recognized service association for a period of two years even after completion of station tenure, if holding the post in Service Association.


Yours faithfully,


(Muthuraman C)

Assistant Director General (SPN)

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!